AIMS questions the safety of prenatal ultrasound

AIMS questions the safety of prenatal ultrasound

This website was prepared in 2000, citing many of the safety issues regarding prenatal ultrasound that are still present today.

A combination of misleading information, state and federal regulations not touching the matter, and that ultrasound side effects are an esoteric field of study which leads to this problem.

Unknowing parents love seeing their children, and unknowing practitioners do not have conclusive evidence that profiteering can cause harm.  Not that all practitioners put money before safety, but many do in the case of fetal sonography.  Some practitioners go so far as to intimidate people into getting more ultrasounds, which goes against the notion of informed consent.

One person who signed the petition at https://www.change.org/petitions/health-risks-of-prenatal-ultrasound-the-urgent-need-for-more-research-and-regulation left in the comments, “I have two children, and although my pregnancies were both high risk for various reasons (generally my health during pregnancy), I feel that the number of ultrasounds scheduled was excessive.  I probably had close to 10 in my first pregnancy, and had at least two per week for the last two months of my second pregnancy.  Scare tactics were used by my doctor any time I questioned the need for so many, including the claim that he needed to be “prepared” in case my babies were born with conditions that required immediate treatment.  They were not.  I genuinely believe that some OB’s see high risk pregnancies as a cash cow.  Certainly mine did.”

2 thoughts on “AIMS questions the safety of prenatal ultrasound

  1. Pingback: Is Pregnancy Ultrasound Risky?

  2. Yes.. They say very early on that nobody knows the long term side effects, and this is true.

    The reason I am very concerned about long term side effects on humans is because I have seen them in other models. I worked in a lab that grew plants exposed to ultrasound for a while, and brief exposures to the plant at seed had long lasting effects.. The plants were different as adults.

    I can see something similar happening to humans. More ultrasound would mean more change, and so it makes me wonder about the increasing proliferation of ultrasound for fetal sonograms far beyond what safety boards recommend is safe.

    I’m not pretending like I have some golden data to prove anything, and that’s the point. Research has not really been done on this stuff. I’ve been trying to find a way to work with Dr. Casanova in a PhD program investigating this further but funding has been an issue so far.

Leave a Reply

